2023 Diversity Scholarship Award Winners

Jean Melbye Diversity Scholarship Award

Duane Joshryl Javine, Ashworth Square Co-op, Mississauga, will attend Humber College and enter his first year in Health Management. He has actively participated in the co-op’s annual multicultural event and the Skills Ontario program.

Inna Ioanna Guschina, Glen Oaks Co-op, Oakville, is entering their first year at Sheridan College and pursuing a Community and Social Justice diploma. She has been actively involved in co-op programs such as Food for Life. She assists Ukranian families displaced by the war and connects them with settlement support, medical, work, and school. She has used her knowledge of the Ukrainian culture and language to assist with interpretation and helping refugee families settle into their new communities and homes.

Carol MacEachern Diversity Scholarship Award

Sagaran Logendran, Yarl Co-op, Mississauga, will study Health Sciences at the University of Waterloo. He has been a Program Coordinator with the Senior Tamil Society of Peel, organizing cultural programs and supporting the senior community. He has led various literacy programs through the Cooksville Library. He has also been involved in multiple activities in his co-op.

Paul Okogwu, Britannia Glen Co-op, Mississauga, will attend the University of Western and enter his second year pursuing a Bachelor of Science.  Actively involved as a junior leader in high school, he had a key role in programming activities for a diverse student body. He was a leader, a role model and encouraged a safe and inclusive environment. He has also been involved in co-op activities and working with young children in the PLASP program.

Return to Diversity Scholarship